Tabitha Cartwright Bio

Tabitha Cartwright



My self-summary

I’ve been living in Beijing for three years now, though I’m from Hartford, CT originally. Just a single girl enjoying her time abroad, who loves to travel, try new things, and who has learned to cope with her congenital heart defect. I’m here to find somebody who’s willing to get serious and settle down – maybe even start a family. I’m a bit of an introvert, who’d rather spend evenings at home reading, writing, cooking or watching TV.

What I’m doing with my life

I’m a writer by trade, though I supplement my income by doing some English tutoring. I’ve been taking Mandarin classes at night for the past few years as well, and I’ve improved quite a bit, though I still have trouble writing characters by hand and reading and understanding people when they talk.

I’m really good at

Writing, obviously. And I’ve always done my best to keep teaching myself new things. I’m not the type of person who stopped learning after high school or college. For example, I now read at a 19th grade level.

The first things people usually notice about me

The large cyst on my forehead. Or, during the summer, the large cysts on my thighs.

Favorite books, movies, music, TV shows and food

None in particular

The six things I could never do without

My journal, my phone, my heart medication, my Mandarin translator, my oldest sister Tarten, my Mandarin translator, and –  guys I’ll meet you halfway here – internet porn.

I spend a lot of time thinking about

The mysteries of the universe: Why I am here, at this moment in time and space rather than another. How to make the world a better place. If my heart’s about to give out. How to curb global warming. If my Chinese-made heart medicine contains actual medicine or if it’s just a placebo. My stories and their characters. How to improve a narrative. How long it would take someone to find my body if something were to happen to me.

On a typical Friday night, I am

At home reading or writing with a one and a half glasses of red wine at my side.

The most private thing I’m willing to admit

Doctors say there’s a good chance my heart will stop in my sleep sometime in the next five or ten years.

I’m looking for

A nice guy who is open-minded, likes to laugh, who doesn’t mind not going out every night and preferably who thinks he’s capable of being a single father.

You should message me if

  • You’re another lonely expat in Beijing
  • You don’t like roller coasters
  • You need someone to practice Mandarin with
  • You want to swap war stories about teaching English in China
  • You generally avoid places with sudden, loud noises
  • You are a cardiologist who’s made a breakthrough in treating Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome
  • You are very tall and very handsome